wsc

 

 


Rialto Newmarket
Mon 9 April, 6.30 pm

Bridgeway Northcote Pt
Thu 5 April, 8.15 pm
Sat 7 April, 8.15 pm




Paramount
Wed 18 April, 11.45 am
Wed 18 April, 6.30 pm
Sat 21 April, 4.00 pm



Regent Theatre
Wed 25 April, 6.15 pm
Thu 26 April, 11.15 am



Hollywood 3
Tue 1 May, 6.15 pm
Wed 2 May, 6.15 pm
Fri 4 May, 6.15 pm
Wed 9 May, 6.15 pm




Facebook Twitter YouTube

CHINESE TAKEAWAY


“A real delight – warm, amusing and delightfully structured… It opens quite wonderfully and simply doesn’t look back.”— Mark Adams, Screendaily

This charming odd-couple comedy draws on two resources that have made recent Argentinian movies so appealing to audiences around the world: a nimble, character-based screenplay – and actor Ricardo Darín. In Chinese Takeaway he’s Roberto, a Buenos Aires shopkeeper clinging with comic exactitude to the routines that keep him single and make his life so gratifyingly safe.

Enter Jun, an amiable young Chinese man mysteriously abandoned in the city without a word of Spanish and clearly in need of the kindness of strangers. Doing the decent thing, Roberto finds his social world expanding in all manner of inconvenient and unforeseeable ways. If the recipe is tried and true, the ingredients are sweet, salty and fresh.

 


Argentina | 2011 | 90 mins
Director/Screenplay: Sebastián
Borensztein
Producers: Gerardo Herrero, Juan
Pablo Buscarini, Pablo Bossi, Isabel Garcia Peralta
Photography: Rodrigo Pulpeiro
Editor: Fernando Pardo
Music: Lucio Godoy
With: Ricardo Darín, Huang Sheng
Huang, Muriel Santa Ana, Enric
Rodriguez, Iván Romanelli
In Spanish and Mandarin, with
English subtitles

CinemaScope

Censors rating: M offensive language, sexual references